Get a Language Partner

Screenshot from 2017-11-18 10:50:16

Alex Rawlings likens language learning to a skill and just like playing football or the guitar, we will only get better if we practise. His first tip is to find a language partner and suggests finding a meet up group. I have been meeting up with the Georgian Language Club in Tbilisi  since August. I have managed to incorporate their times into my schedule, so I am always free between 6:30pm and 8pm on a Tuesday. The group is a mix of Georgians and non-Georgians, I mostly listen as my language skills are not yet up to the levels of the others but it gives me useful input.

Georgian club1
Georgian Language Club meeting in Kiwi Cafe, Tbilisi

I have also found a few people I can chat to around Tbilisi, like Edvard who has a stall in Vagzlis Basroba.

edvard
Edvard

I have also met with Tinatin a couple of times to exchange English with Georgian. We speak for an hour in Georgian and an hour in English.

Game of thrones Irri teaches Daenerys Dothraki
Irri teaches Daenerys the Dothraki Language in Game of Thrones

Alex Rawlings video: click here

 

Leave a comment